Spring Brogues

This post encompasses two things I love; Spring and Sensible footwear

Once i graduated from my baggy jeans and sneakers lifestyle I tended to live in ballet flats. I have loads of them that I got on sale years ago in New Look for £5 in various colours and they are leather and have lasted really well. I always wore the pale pink pair throughout the summer but these sadly finally had to be thrown our after wandering about the sea in Sri Lanka in them. A couple of years ago brogues started to appear on the scene and I immediately bought a pair of pale brown with floral fabric inserts from Miss Selfridge. I wear them loads during the better weather but always worry I am going to wear them out.

I did a very stupid thing and look on New-a-Porter (land of beautiful things I cant afford) and immediately fell in love with these delightful Robert Clergerie three colour brogues. I have always hesitated before at brogues in a light colour, thinking they would stand out too much but the variation between the lighter and darker shades work really well. As much as I love them (although not totally convinced by the white sole though it’d soon get dirty and darken) I just cant justify the £320

robertclegeriebrogues

While continuing my perusal of shoes I went on the Dune website (they always have very pretty mens shoes in their shop windows) and was completely smitten with these. I think I actually prefer them to the Robert Clergerie ones and although £79 is more than I would usually pay for a pair of shoes, if they fit well then they would be worth it as I would wear them all the time. The local shop doesnt have them in yet but I am hoping that they will soon so I can find out if they fit as good as they look.

dunebrogues

In a lower price range Clarks (£54.99) also do these two tone peachy pinky nude brogues. Im not totally convinced they are for me but they are worth trying on. In Autumn I spent so much time umming and ahhhing over whether I wanted the same style in the patent black or green tweed or red that I never got any.

clarks brogues

Finally I saw these on ASOS and they are just so cute but I dont know whether I should order them to try on or not. The colour means that they would go with less outfits, but they are just so cute!

asosbrogues

Leave a Reply

