A well read year

reading vintage bath

I have always been a great lover of books, when I was a child I read all the time and by the time I was 18 owned about 200 books and was a great visitor to the library. Over the years I have gone through phases of reading loads or not reading at all depending on my personal situation at the time. In 2011 I suddenly got the urge to re-read some of my Christopher Pike novels (one of my favourite authors as a teenager), once I had run out of them (sadly many of my books went to charity shops when I was at uni) I started re-buying all the ones I used to own as well as all the rest I hadn’t read. I love Christopher Pike novels, they are usually teen thrillers but some with an element of the supernatural or aliens in, and at roughly 200 pages each they are such fun to devour. I always thought they were in a higher bracket than all the other teen horror as you never quite knew how the story would end, good doesn’t always triumph over evil and the boy may not get the girl (she may be a vampire alien ghost for all you know!).

I really got into the mood for reading (and that time I was commuting lots by train), and started buying both old favourites and new reads from amazon marketplace (often £2.86 a book) and I always have a book in my handbag. At the start of 2012 I decided to blog about all the books I read as a nice way to keep a record of my reading for future and also to share the books I loved with others. (see the books category on the right) Unfortunately I read so much and didn’t get round to writing it all up, something which I need re remedy this year, both with the backlog and the books I’m currently reading. I do unfortunately have a dreadful habit of reading too many books at the same time, something which I was doing reasonably well at controlling, although when a new library book arrives these have to take precedence over owned books. This is what I currently have on the go: A Traveller in Time by Alison Uttley, In Your Face by Scarlett Thomas and Stonestruck (current handbag book) by Helen Cresswell.

books 020113

For Christmas my family got me an Amazon voucher (joy!) which handily works for marketplace books and on sunday I ordered around 20 or so books (should keep me going for a while) including some obscure victorian sensation novels, lets just say you will be hearing a lot about Mary Elizabeth Braddon this year (and I even found an Edwardian Zombie Novel!). Everyone has their own taste in books and you can probably guess that mine tends towards the fantastical rather than real life, if you do get inspired to read anything that I review I would love to hear what you think. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

