Bath: Colonna and Smalls

Around the World in Tea and Cake (oh and Coffee too)

“Our shop is all about exploring the flavour of coffee, focusing on how region, variety, processing, roast and brew method affect the taste” – Colonna & Smalls

Where best to start than with my favourite coffee shop Colonna and Smalls, where you will often find me sat at the brew bar mesmerised by the Syphon (otherwise known by me as the magical science coffee, ooh pretty lights)

The shop opened in a small room a couple of years ago and expanded and expanded till they moved to their current bright and airy premises last year. They run three espressos at a time (single origin and blended) which change all the time. The board has tasting notes for both drinking it black or combined with milk. They also run three filter methods, the Syphon, the Aeropress and the Clever dripper with a different coffee on each. Also they have nice cake and pastries

The staff are really helpful and friendly, helping you decide which bean or method will best suit your tastes. The menus also give you helpful information. As a regular customer they’ve got to know my likes and dislikes (Likes: Earthy, Dislikes: Bright) and can help me chose which coffee will be right for me that day.I love the excitement of reading the tasting notes and trying to find the smells and flavours. Thanks guys for opening my eyes (and nose and taste buds) to this fantastic world of coffee I never previously knew about

http://colonnaandsmalls.co.uk/

p.s If you want to know more about the magical science coffee ill be writing a separate post about it, once I’ve done my homework so i can explain it right… oh and the fancy cold coffee apparatus (below)

Leave a Reply

