Savoury Cheese Muffins

3 Oct

cheesemuffin1

Sometimes you just want to bake something savoury. I’ve had this recipe bookmarked in my Afternoon Tea recipe book for a while and on discovering that I had all the ingredients I decided to give them a go.

I really love this book, which I got as a christmas present from a friend, it has so many good recipes (cakes to quiches to scones) and is really easily laid out. You can see the recipe in the image below. Its really easy to mix and for once I didn’t need to use the kitchenaid (hoorah for less washing up). It makes a really gloopy paste which you put into bun cases with a block of cheese in the centre. The main thing to watch here is how much you put in each of the muffin tins. The first time I made these I put too much in the bottom and didnt have enough to cover the cheese on top.

The second time I made these it worked better. They were a little dry the first time and moister the second. I have no idea why this was although i didn’t bother with the recipe quantity of cheese the second time, as realising it needed more, I just cut a generous square for each of the muffins. More cheese is definitely better.

These work really well for a lunchtime or afternoon snack and are best eaten warm on the same day you bake them. They can last one more day but are really really dry if you leave them any longer (could microwaving to reheat be an answer? I didn’t try). Just be careful eating them too soon from the oven as theres a lot of molten cheese in there!

cheesemuffins2

One Response to “Savoury Cheese Muffins”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saturday Summary - 5th October | Bonjour, Blogger! - October 6, 2013

    […] that include the instruction “insert block of cheese” is sure to be a winner, which Ally over on Of Cake and Science posted about savoury cheese muffins with just such a […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

